Throwback – Clay Comes Around Again

You’ve seen a lot of paintings lately with the Giveaway, so I think I’ll skip around with some other things I’ve been doing in the meantime. A little variety, what do you think?

One project I took on involved making tiles for a friend. She needed them to be a certain size, 4″ x 4″. I wanted to use standard sized commercial bisque tiles, but I found that the standard measurements are 4.25″ x 4.25″.

After a bit of hair-tearing-out, I found a source that supplied me with the correctly sized tiles in terracotta. I figured it didn’t matter that the clay body was not pale, because I’d be glazing over the whole surface. As it turned out, I think the darker clay enhanced the glazing.

So I set to work and made about 30 or so, so that my friend would be able to choose – she only needed about half that many. I photographed most of them, not all, and so I’ll present you with the pictures over the next few posts.

The photos are not the greatest, as the shiny glazed surface interferes with the picture quality, but – I think you can see what I’ve got here. Take a look. Next time I’ll explain my technique in glazing them.

14 thoughts on “Throwback – Clay Comes Around Again

  1. Laura (PA Pict)

    You already know I think these are great. My favourite in this collection is the swimmer. There’s something about the dynamic composition of that one and it also includes some of my favourite colours. I’m sure you friend had fun making her selection.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    She was going to replace some dated accent tiles in her kitchen with them, but the possibility of damage to the field tiles (and, I think, the aggravating nature of the job of removing just some tiles and not others) made her change her mind. So, she arranged them in a group in her dining room above a big window. She sent me a picture and they looked so happy!

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, I think she did, and I found making these tiles, as you know, fun because it was something kind of out there – didn’t matter if they matched things or went with my “artistic vision” – just going along and working. I also really like the red clay tiles, the more I see the results, because I do think it influences the colors.

  4. Pingback: More Small Clay Tiles | Claudia McGill and Her Art World

  5. Pingback: Clay Tiles 6″ x 6″ – Faces | Claudia McGill and Her Art World

  6. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, I swim a lot, have done so all my life, and the bathing suits are so much livelier than when I was young. I buy ones designed for competition and so I get the designs for younger girls and women and I LOVE it. No more navy blue bla and none for my tile people, either. As for the chair, well, I love furniture, and I feel they are in the category of very alive inanimate objects, so I do my best to bring out personality.

Leave a Reply

