Finger Painting, Kind Of

I got a new phone not too long ago and one of its features is something interesting to me – in the notes section, you can now draw with your finger.

Now, I know there are programs and apps that do a much more elaborate job of filling this same function, and that I’m probably making some of you laugh at my wide-eyed amazement at something that’s been around – but, to me, it’s new and so, I beg your tolerance!

I can’t see going further in this direction right now – I like dealing with the actual materials, holding a brush or pencil, smearing paint and getting it on my fingers, smelling that acrylic paint smell –  but it’s fun to play around a little with something different, isn’t it?

23 thoughts on “Finger Painting, Kind Of

  1. Norunn Mølsæter

    He-he! I know what you mean, for my husband there seems to be not a thing in the world that can not be managed by an app, but for me, I like to get my hands in the dirt, or paint that is….

  2. Genie Geer

    Wow! I’m with you on the technology…and then I was thinking, the feeling, the imagining, is still moving through yourself, your fingers; in this case, the most sensitive and personal part of the finger, onto the screen. So these drawings are powerful. Of course, I love to save all my drawings, so I wonder, are you able to save these to your photos app?

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, me too. I always have been the kind of person who has to try out something rather than think about it, to see if it works, so the computer and etc. sometimes are one step too removed from that for me, but these little drawings, I enjoyed them, because my finger just traced and a line appeared. Like magic, and yet, my actual finger was in contact with the surface I drew on. Somehow this is puzzling me but in a good way.

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, I did, and I also sent them to myself on email so that I could put them into the “big” computer, and work on them (if I had wanted to) in one of my programs there. I agree with you, the inspiration is still coming from within and expressing itself through my fingers, and it is a strange feeling to trace a line and see it appear without a pencil or whatever, but kind of magical, too. I did like it and I’ll experiment more…but it’s not the same as using paint, etc. Well, that is the point, isn’t it, maybe? More ways to say something?

  5. Laura (PA Pict)

    I had no idea such a thing was possible on a phone. I’m no Luddite by any stretch but I tend to think to do things the lo-fi rather than hi-fi way. This could be handy for quickly sketchy an idea or something you observe.

  6. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, that is what I thought when the guy at the phone store showed me. Simple to use. It’s part of the Notes section. Tap the squiggly line at the bottom to bring up the tools..

  7. Claudia McGill Post author

    I think they have more elaborate programs that you can do this but the phone was right there and so I tried it. Reminds me of when you draw on a misted window, or of course finger painting, but your finger becomes different with each tool you select, with the phone, and you can backtrack or erase. Really absorbing and also convenient. Kind of pulls you in and you want to draw more…

  8. agnesashe

    There’s no doubt about it your style will ‘out’ whatever medium you’re using. Great to see it zingy out from contemporary tech. 😁

  9. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I am, almost against my will, interested in trying more of this kind of thing. I think I really like the feeling of the drawing coming right out of my finger. It is an amazing thing.

  10. Claudia McGill Post author

    I never heard of it so I went to trusty Google and wow! Wow! I had no idea. Now I am really starting to think. I read an article in which he talked about this venture and mentioned the ease of taking the ipad out in the world to “paint” – no materials, clean up, etc. Really, giving me ideas! Thank you for mentioning this.

  11. agnesashe

    I know that Hockney caused quite a stir when he first presented his iPad work as art, but art it definitely is. Liberating and fun, yes?

  12. Manja Mexi Movie

    Hehe, this feature is made for you! Whereas I still can’t believe it that my e-reader only has this drawing function and not any kind of notepad for actually typing stuff in. What do they expect? That I’ll be handwriting shopping lists?

  13. Claudia McGill Post author

    Perish the thought! (although I’ll say shopping lists make good collage elements. Sometimes I pick them out of the carts at the store where people have discarded them, especially if they have interesting handwriting…)

Leave a Reply

