In Which I Make an Appearance on Film

You can see me in action – this post includes a link to a video about the exhibit I’m currently participating in. Take a look!

Claudia McGill, Artist

As you may remember, I am participating in an exhibit, “The Thread of Art”, at the Stanek Gallery in Philadelphia. The opening was on March 31, and I have some photos for you:

But, you may be saying, Claudia, I don’t see you in these pictures, do I? And you would be right. I have an answer for you – you can also view a short video made by filmmaker John Thornton. All the artists in the show are interviewed; I come in at about 8 minutes in, and also I appear at the end. Now, I have not had the courage to watch the film yet, but my family says it turned out fine, for which I must thank the filmmaker, I think! Here is the link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=abt29ieStUw .

Thank you! And I’ll say it again, if you are in Philadelphia during April and May, and you want…

View original post 12 more words

25 thoughts on “In Which I Make an Appearance on Film

  1. Laura (PA Pict)

    The exhibition looks great. The art is hung well and that space is really nice. Your paintings look amazing. Those crochet skeleton pieces were fascinating. I wish you and your fellow artists every success with the exhibition.

  2. agnesashe

    Oh absolutely great to see and hear you on this video!! Of course, spotted your work in the early panning shots, ‘balanced’/hung on the wall. Looks an interesting exhibition with a good selection of pieces. You come across as lively and engaged and explain your approach with clarity and enthusiasm. Top marks for being so brave – talking on camera is very intimidating for most of us who are not part of the TV world. Congratulations.

  3. Michael Richards (certainline)

    Well how lovely to ‘meet’ you, Claudia. And what an amazing exhibition! I especially loved your work – of course – and Catherine Mulligan’s wonderful paintings and Christine Stoughton’s 3D work. Very inspirational. Thanks for sharing this.

  4. memadtwo

    Great show! Congratulations Claudia! And you sound and look great…although I hear Philadelphia/Baltimore in your accent, absolutely over anything southern. It’s a beautiful gallery too. What an interesting group of artists, (K)

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, it’s a really nice gallery and I feel grateful how things turned out. I did not get to meet the skeleton artist, she wasn’t there, but I did examine her pieces carefully. Very amazing how they are constructed and I couldn’t help thinking about seeing one on a LARGE scale with large size yarn and hook…Imagine…

  6. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you so much! I feel great that my work is included and I am thrilled with how it appears. I think if I sounded like I knew what I was saying, it was because the filmmaker guided me with questions, I feel I’d have rambled on and on once I got started so it’s good there was some structure! I have been filmed a couple of times before (at street shows for the local paper) but nothing like this (in those I just had to stand there and basically say my name and point at my art. And smile) where I had to sound – coherent?

    Thanks so much for your encouragement! It means a lot.

  7. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you! I will work up the nerve in a couple of days, I think. I think the filmmaker was very encouraging and helpful in how he asked questions and helped me convey some information without going off track.

  8. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you! I remember wondering how the whole array would look when the curator showed me a picture of each person’s work back when he was selecting paintings. I could not see much of a “thread”. But in person, I was just amazed and I felt really honored to be in the show. I spent some time looking at the work of the two artists you mentioned as they also appealed to me as well in particular.

  9. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you so much.

    You know, I’ve lived in Philadelphia for 40 years+ if you count my college years, and as far as I am concerned, this is where I’m from, so – I admit to being surprised when people pick up on any accent from elsewhere! Can you believe that, but it’s true.

    I am really happy with the exhibit and I feel grateful to have a chance like this . It’s been something for my scrapbook, that’s certain!

  10. Claudia McGill Post author

    I attended an exhibit about 4 years ago at Lafayette College in Easton, where the theme was fiber work and math. There were all sorts of structures in that show, including a coral reef (which was meant to be a section with different types of coral) and it was about 8-10 feet long. You would have loved this exhibit, I think.

  11. Laura (PA Pict)

    I definitely admire textile art because it’s just so different from anything I could hope to do so there’s an element of wonder to it for me and also because it’s so dimensional and tactile.

  12. Claudia McGill Post author

    It’s not hard to pick up knitting or crochet. One day it may happen, because I know you are an explorer, and I’ll be interested to see where it would take you.

  13. Laura (PA Pict)

    It’s something I’ve tried but can’t get the knack of. My Gran was a knitter, including Fair Isle, and tried to teach me over and over and I just couldn’t do it. That’s OK. I don’t have time in my life for any more hobbies.

  14. dorandana

    Ok Claudia, now I feel like we’ve met! Congratulations, you’re in good company – even though you didn’t study at the Barnes (ha ha – the filmmaker seems to be more impressed with the academic process than the end result) – – your work absolutely shines!

  15. Richard Guest

    Hi Claudia
    The show looks great (and your paintings look superb) – really interesting selection and arrangement. And it’s great to see and hear you on film.

  16. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you! I know, the Barnes connection is strong with the curator’s relationship with the foundation. And with it being such a presence in Philadelphia art life in a lot of ways. People do have a respect for it, and for going to school in general, which I understand. But I am glad that for myself I did things the way I did, I’m not good at taking direction and in fact art is important to me in that I don’t have to, I can just go along in my own way! Something in life needs to be this way, I think.

  17. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you, that is so nice of you to say this.

    I think the curator has arranged them well and I like how they relate to each other. I think he was influenced by how things are set up at the Barnes Foundation, I don’t know if you know it, but he has an association with it and it occurred to me that is why things are laid at as they are – because usually it seems they just keep an artist’s work together in exhibits like this. I think it makes it more interesting like this.

  18. Claudia McGill Post author

    Seems to me it really puts it on the arranger to have a good eye for what pieces help each other look better. Now that can get chancy (I am veering off and thinking of the giant array of family photos my parents had displayed along the stairs when I was growing up. What a chaotic feeling that always gave me!).

Leave a Reply

