What Was I Thinking?

I’m not sure. I was working on clay, some months back, with a couple of friends, and showing them various ways to do things. I made a couple of bowls by using an existing plastic bowl as my template – remember, I hand-build, I don’t use the wheel.

Now, I had a couple of bowls. Well, that was great, but I didn’t want any bowls. So I put a couple of little figures in them. Look here, a cat in a bowl. Cat in bowl - side view 4-16 small

The bowl won’t hold water because I put a couple of holes in it, so that I could demonstrate my hole-making tool. Well, everyone knows that cats don’t like water.

Next, I made this little guy and set him on an island.

I could put a little teeny bit of water in this bowl and he could dangle his feet in it. I am sure he would like that, especially if it were a hot day.

Well, that’s it. Bowl-making and where it leads. If you are me.

18 thoughts on “What Was I Thinking?

  1. Laura (PA Pict)

    I love these bowls all the better for them having little figures in them. I think they’re fantastic. I can tell you now that my youngest son would add black walnuts to the dishes because he stores black walnuts everywhere in the house. And moulted cicada carapaces once it’s that season.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    See? I knew there could a purpose for them. I like the black walnut idea, because I love them too. I like the cicada idea too but it seems I could come up with a better display for such a thing. Hmmm….

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    They do, I guess, since I have set them side by side in my studio until I get some message from somewhere telling me where they want to go next! !!!

  4. nannus

    Reminds me of Wawa, the monitor lizard, in his shell. You will probably not know him, but he is a famous character from a German pupet theatere series and childrens book series from the 1960s and 1970s (Urmel aus dem Eis) (http://www.spiegel.de/fotostrecke/die-besten-filmzitate-fotostrecke-106854-65.html). Wawa is sitting in his shell and is philosophizing about “the sun is rising and sinking and it is passing above me, and the moon is rising and sinking and is passing above me, and the stars…” 🙂

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    I’m going to look this up. I love how one topic leads into another and I learn something I had never heard of until today.

    Interestingly, the word “Wawa” is the name of a chain of convenience stores/gas stations that started off some decades ago in Wawa, Pennsylvania, not too far from me, now all over the US East Coast – and the name is taken from a Native American word for the Canada goose…

  6. nannus

    In that children’s program, the word is probably derived from the word “Waran” which is the German word for monitor lizards (I don’t know from which language it is originally derived).
    Unfortunately, the corresponding Wikipedia article does not have an English version yet (https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Urmel_aus_dem_Eis).

  7. Alice

    SQUEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!! These are precious and an absolute delight! (Oh, and Arthur, my own Claudia McGill cat, would like to send a friendly “MRRROWWWRR!” to the little guy in the holey dish. 🙂 )

  8. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you and so great to hear from you.

    Sometimes having no idea of what I’m doing leaves room for new ideas to work their way in and this is the case here. I do like the bowl thing and I plan to make more, and how I go there I don’t know, but it’s just fun. Enough said!

Leave a Reply

