I Know What I Was Thinking

Cats. That is what I was thinking when I made these. They were done at the same time as the bowls you just saw.

My daughter-in-law liked the white cat so it went home with her. The others are still around. I think they will be going to the Tile Festival in Doylestown, PA, next month.

They are done in stoneware clay, painted with Velvet underglazes and using the technique I described not too long ago, where I scratch through to the underlayer of color, and fired at Cone 5.

25 thoughts on “I Know What I Was Thinking

  1. Laura (PA Pict)

    These cat characters are glorious. Their expressions are so very cat-like. I think my favourite is the brown one with the white and blue background though I do find my eyes drawn to that vivid blue and the bright red too. Ack, I love them all.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. Cats are one of my favorite subjects to make in tiles and in clay. I know I’ve done a lot of tiles and several sculptures over the years!

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you, I do like looking at them in a group like this. These would not be good for a wall since they are not glazed and the grout would stain them, but I have made other mosaics where they aren’t grouted, (indoors or on a board meant to be hung on the wall) and they do come out looking good, I think!

  4. debiriley

    I thought you might be another “cat slave”! we rescued 4 from the shelter & they’re so like kids in attitude!! whiners, bullies, teasers, pouters,….mama’s boy. They ARE Funny.
    Thank you so much for sharing yours with us; your work is always lovely and so inspiring. πŸ™‚

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    I don’t know. I think it’s because you are not a WordPress blog owner? I’m listening, no matter how long it takes. Always glad to hear from you. Just saying.

  6. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you.

    Each cat is a personality just like any other creature, but within their own cat category of traits, too. Somewhat predictable, yes but no!

  7. Alice

    You always capture Resting Cat Bitch Face so perfectly well. I want to feed them all treats and scratch their ears while they ignore me!

  8. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I do feel I’m channeling years of cat friendships with a variety of personalities but every one of them has given me this look at one time or another, and it’s an abashing kind of thing from my end of it. So no wonder I reproduce it.

  9. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, this is one of two shows in the US devoted only to tiles and I have done it for several years. This year I have some different things to show so I am wondering how people will take the new stuff – I’ll post it when the show gets closer in May. But anyway, First of all, I have written about the show in the past if you are interested — https://claudiamcgillart.wordpress.com/2015/05/18/tile-festival-2015/. And, the Moravian Tile Works and Henry Mercer are big local names here as well as being famous around the world – you can google the terms or also Mercer Museum, and see what I mean. So the whole show has a lot of layers and is a lot of fun to do. !!!

  10. Claudia McGill Post author

    I don’t know why there aren’t more shows like this because everyone has the same reaction – loves the show and the idea of just tiles. Of course you can go to a tile store for commercially made tiles. But I love it that this show encourages a part of clay work that doesn’t get much attention, people usually focus on mugs plates, so on and so on.

  11. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I sold all but the one with the green background, and now – I have some more irregularly shaped bisqued pieces ready for glazing – and I am planning more cats! I do like making cat tiles.

Leave a Reply

