We Have A Nose For News, Maybe

Here are some more tile faces, about the same size as the ones in the previous post, but this time I shaped a nose on each face.

They were fired, and then I did the glazing with Velvet underglazes before a final firing at Cone 5.

Clay tiles - four faces in a group with noses 4-16 small

And here is a stray tile, orange disks orbiting a semi-cactus. One of them obvious a sentient being – I wonder if the others are just in disguise and haven’t let on their intentions yet…

Clay tile - painted - leaves and flower faces 4-16 small

16 thoughts on “We Have A Nose For News, Maybe

  1. Laura (PA Pict)

    I absolutely LOVE the clay faces. The expressiveness is impressive. I am especially fond of the one with the pink nose as I like the way the nose breaks the line of the tile. I often break the “frame” in my illustrations so that is probably why it appeals to me. I also love the use of circles on the one with the red dot nose. Actually I just love them all.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    I cannot resist going on and on when I get faces and those really great Velvet colors together. Thanks for what you said. I do like making faces and these were nice with the little bit of relief of the nose. Advantage of making my own tiles, this is, vs. commercially made ones.

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    It’s a combination of the clay itself, which is sandy; the fact that I made the tiles myself, so the clay has picked up the texture of the cloth I use on the slab roller (I should have cleaned it off before glazing but I was too lazy); and the way the underglazes themselves work, they are called Velvet for a reason, they end up with this nice “fuzzy” look even on the most flat surface, which I really like. Once again, combination of events that were unplanned coming out together in a nice way!

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    The underglaze is called Velvet for a reason – unglazed, it has a great texturey look to it, which I really like.

    When you say felting, do you mean needle-felting, which I have not done, or regular felting, knitting and shrinking kind of felting, which I have done, and I love it, that wonderful furry thick fabric it makes.

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, I have used glaze over the Velvet underglazes in the past, always, because I wanted the piece to be functional and waterproof and so on, and it is a nice look too, especially on terra cotta clay vs. the white – but I like this so much more.

  6. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, thank you, you have given me something to think about. Some time ago I felted old sweaters from the thrift shop and made some things, maybe again? Hmmmm…

Leave a Reply

