Mixed Up

I haven’t done too much collage work in the past few years while I’ve been doing so much painting. But I have felt the urge for a little mixed media work recently. I’ve done some postcards, ATC’s, and these three pieces in the last couple of months. I’ll show the postcards and ATC’s later on.

These three are done on canvas board, 8″x10″ size.

Really, I meant to do some paintings when I started out. So I put things down on the canvases – making shapes and colors that were pleasing to me, but just didn’t look like going anywhere as paintings. I decided to head for the collage idea and got out magazines and some painted people figures I had done some time ago. Then I mixed things around. I stenciled around a couple of the figures and glued others into the environments that were emerging.

I know this sounds kind of vague, but I was just going along to see what might happen. And here’s what ended up!

22 thoughts on “Mixed Up

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. What nice things you tell me. I enjoy how clearly you express what you see in my work and what you see in it, things I didn’t know I was doing. (you know how you can’t see your own work on its own, you are too close) I really appreciate that. These pieces started off being something really different but I got aggravated with where it was going and suddenly…I veered off in this direction and glad I did, because they got identities and I knew what to do.

  2. Jill Kuhn

    I love this!! Great colors and patterns! I so enjoy collage and I’ve been trying to combine it more with my paintings. I’d say keep experimenting! 🙂

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    I did a lot of collage from 2000 to about 2012 or so and kind of got burned out. This is a return to it for me, haven’t done it in a while. We’ll see if I keep going or what, but it was fun this time.

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. It’s funny how things develop, I was going to add more to this one, and set it aside. Went back, and poof! it was all done already, I decided.

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I’ve always seen collage as using paper to “paint” rather than taking images and recombining, although of course I do that too, it’s just that the former is more the way my collage brain thinks.

  6. Claudia McGill Post author

    I have been asked, when do you know when something is finished, and I say, when I have sold it or otherwise can’t get at it anymore…Until then…it’s always an open question!

  7. Jill Kuhn

    I hear you! Changing things up is always a good thing. 😄 I used to make and sell jewelry so I understand about the burn out thing. 😳

  8. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you! It is a tribute to knowing when to stop adding and let the picture be, this piece, I think.

    By the way, the postal tracking system tells me your package has arrived in Milan today.

Leave a Reply

