Stray Pages

I have a pile of booklets in various states of non-finished. Some of them are made from papers I painted and others were booklets I picked up, such as the ones I get from the paint store. All of them are constructed by papers folded over and stapled along the spine.

I haven’t felt like book production lately so they are just waiting for when I am ready. One day the mood will strike. But for now, no.

I did have one book that was partly done. I looked through it. I liked the pictures on some of the pages and on others, not too much. And remember that in a book there is artwork on both sides of the paper. So I went through and chose which pages I liked best. I cut the book apart and the unchosen, well, they are not the ones I am showing you below.

I guess maybe someday I might figure out something to do with these and take advantage of the double-sidedness – or I’ll let them be framed or pinned on the wall or whatever, just the one side showing. Who knows, wherever they end up, the viewer/owner/picture hanger may like the reverse side better. Nice to have a choice? But for now, here are the ones that appealed to me.

Each picture is about 8″ x 8″. Acrylics on glossy brochure paper.

14 thoughts on “Stray Pages

  1. Laura (PA Pict)

    I love the atmosphere in the final piece. There’s something about it that makes me think of melancholic yearning. My favourite, however, is the cat on the lounger. Pretty much any of your artwork featuring cats is a winner with me.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, I think the computer shows them well, but they are different in real life ( I guess like everything else?). M0re vibrant, I think.

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I love picturing people in their homes looking out. I always like to imagine the cozy warm atmosphere of being inside. Although these people may have terrible housekeeping habits and never wash dishes or whatever, from outside it all looks so – home!

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    Well, and you know I love cats, and I will go so far as to say I might be part cat for all I know. I would like that. Thanks for the encouragement. These poor pages sat in the unfinished state so long, I am glad to have liberated them and not thrown them out.

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    Oh, yes, you are so right. I love that interpretation. I felt it as loneliness (as thankfully I sleep well and so far in life, I am asleep at night) and the idea that there is no escape into a good night’s rest makes it even more emotional for me. Thank you.

  6. Claudia McGill Post author

    Like your kitty! My son and daughter-in-law have a black cat named Nellie and so I pay special attention now to black cats (our cat here at home is a gray tabby)

Leave a Reply

