Pressed, Not Ironed, Pressed

I got one of those Gelli Plates and tried it out in March, when I made these postcards.

I liked the plate fine. But I feel I’ve done a lot of the same thing with other methods, including painting on a piece of paper and pressing it to another one. I’ve wondered if I was missing something about the product.

I am reminded of the time some years back I made monoprints using a silkscreen. In that case, I painted on the screen, printed until I could get no more color, washed the screen, and painted another design, printed it on fresh paper or on top of the previous group. I also used a lot of masking. What I got was a group of prints that were related but none the same.

I did the same thing here. Paint on, using acrylics, print. Wash. Paint on something new. Print on fresh cards or over some or all of the old ones. I think this process suits me and I like the results.

Anyway, I like the firm squishiness of the plate and I’ll use it again. I gave away my silkscreen some time ago – using it was difficult. This method is very simple.

So we have some postcards here. They are 6″ x 4.25″ and I gessoed over the shiny side for a change of surface.

12 thoughts on “Pressed, Not Ironed, Pressed

  1. Nancy Bell Scott

    These look wonderful, Claudia — extremely interesting in the color and form layerings, and very pleasing. I looked up the process just now, and as you describe here, it’s nice and relatively simple and direct. I’ll enjoy trying this, thanks for the post.

  2. Laura (PA Pict)

    You’ve achieved wonderful textures with these pieces. I really enjoy using the gelli plate, as do my kids. I don’t get it out often but when I do I produce lots of papers for collaging with or using as backgrounds.

  3. memadtwo

    The little monoprinting I’ve done has used a similar method, ending up with a series of prints the same but different. I just used a piece of plexiglass and acrylic paint. You got good results, I especially like the second one. (K)

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    You’re welcome. It really is easy to work with this printing method. My main problem is I always want to really scratch hard on the plate and you can’t do that or you’ll kill the poor Gelli Plate. I like how it picks up every detail, though.

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    I’m gong to try it more for making an image next time, kind of drawing on it. and we’ll see…I do like its rubbery little personality, the Gelli Plate, I mean!

  6. Claudia McGill Post author

    Looks to me that what I did was gesso over a postcard sized cereal box cardboard, and then paint, in acrylics, some of it watery and some more what came out of the tube. Then I put the pale paint on the gelli plate, scraped it with a rubbery kind of tool I have to use with clay to make the streaks, and print. I would say this is a second print from the plate, not the first, since it is kind of thin and airy. That’s it!

  7. Claudia McGill Post author

    I’ve done the plexiglass (or actually I think I might have used glass) also and I like those results. The surface takes a harder touch than the gelli plate, which makes a different effect. I liked doing this and I’ll try it again.

  8. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, and the good thing is, if it doesn’t work…just keep printing over it. Or for a change of pace, adding something drawn in ink.

Leave a Reply

