Pressed, Not Ironed – #2

Some more postcards made in the same manner as the previous group. But also a little different.

I went through the same layering process as far as printing, but I used bigger sheets of paper, Bristol board, 11″ x 14″. I had some lying around and thought I’d use it.

When I finished the whole paper, I randomly cut it into postcard sizes. I can’t remember now how many from a piece I got, because there were smaller pieces I did something else with – I think in fact I made some ATC’s that you will see some other time.

For the next week or so the postcards will have been done in this manner. You will see the family resemblances that has emerged through my process.

Postcards, 6″ x 4.25″, on recycled cardboard, using acrylic paints.

11 thoughts on “Pressed, Not Ironed – #2

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, I think I might have had some acrylic medium on the paper (why, I don’t know) that thinned it a bit. And pressure, even slight, really had an effect.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    It’s amazing what the layering and printing process can do in terms of depth. I find it challenging not to muddy this effect up, as I really like it.

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I think it’s in knowing when to stop, so things don’t get muddled. And also in recognizing when one part of the piece is ok but other parts aren’t, and getting this all to coordinate in the end. Challenging but very focusing and relaxing.

  4. Jill Kuhn

    An excellent idea to create postcards from a larger piece of paper. These are super fun to look at – I like the patterns, shapes and colors and how each one is different. 🙂

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    I like this method because you don’t worry about “composition” or whatever- you just go along and let what’s good speak up for itself rather than forcing things.

Leave a Reply

