Pressed, Not Ironed, #3

More printed postcards, another branch of the family.

21 thoughts on “Pressed, Not Ironed, #3

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, the printing method really allows for the unexpected to happen. A lot. I like that. And it’s easier than silkscreening – I made prints kind of like these back in the past with that method. It also lends itself to making a lot of images at one time which I like.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you, I love this interpretation.

    Sometimes I think it is possible to say more with abstractions like these than with more detailed paintings. And different people see different things. I really like that.

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Well, I find with monoprinting that it seems to get away from me and take over all of itself. Relaxing, because I can take credit for the results with minimal thinking, it’s kind of an intuitive process and lots of serendipity. I’ll be interested to see your take on the method!

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    You know, I never liked purple and yellow together much, but recently it seems to be happening to me, along with blue and yellow, and I really am liking it now. Guess it just had to wait its turn?

  5. debiriley

    fabulous combination Claudia! love the textures. I haven’t been a super fan of yellow + purple; but your subtle use of the two makes the pairing just Lovely!! cheers, Debi

  6. Claudia McGill Post author

    I think it’s like clouds – the images form themselves, in this kind of work, and it’s different for each person, which I like. For me, I just keep going until I think it looks nice and then I stop!

  7. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, I felt the same way about purple/yellow – it seemed harsh to me, always, but I’m feeling more of its softer side, now, maybe?

  8. rubiescorner

    Keep painting. I paint also. It is a matter of painting for yourself. Others will enjoy it when you have finished, but you will receive the satisfaction of finishing what you started. I paint in acrylic, and oil, or water-color. It is the same for me. I must paint, because it is like therapy, rest, fulfillment, and very satisfying.

  9. Claudia McGill Post author

    I don’t think I have ever heard this said better. You are totally right. Painting really fills a need for me and I feel better when I am doing it, or even in just thinking about it.

Leave a Reply

