Pressed, Not Ironed, #5

And the last group for right now.

8 thoughts on “Pressed, Not Ironed, #5

  1. Laura (PA Pict)

    It’s interesting how the mind reads shapes in these abstract pieces. The top one led me to see a ladder or flight of steps in the bottom right and the last one I read the shape as a figure swimming breaststroke through a deep river.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    That gelli plate really knows its stuff. It’s very easy to work with and I love how these came out – the sort of watery look and the colors. It’s a technique that really encourages my abstract side, I think.

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Oh! I especially love the breastroke idea!

    This is just why I like making these kinds of images – there is always something of meaning that is just slipping away in the corner of my eye, I just can barely catch it, maybe, and then it turns into something else.

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    I would think so. It’s flexible and could wrap curved surfaces like bowls and so on. Plates would be a snap. They make different sizes and I would think the small one would be best, easiest to handle, and fit most objects in the size that you are making. Also it cleans up with water really easily from acrylic paints, so I think glaze or underglaze would work the same way. I would love to see what you come up with, if you try it.

Leave a Reply

