Postcard from a dreamy landscape

I’ve got a lot of postcards done over the last few months. I’d better start letting them have their turn. Here is one done in collage on cereal-box cardboard, 6″ x 4.25″.

Now, when I say “cereal-box cardboard”, it could also be popsicle box, cracker box, teabag box…you get it. I need to think of a better term for the recycled cardboard I use. But until then, I’ll say the cereal part and you’ll know it was…cardboard headed for the trash until I got my hands on it.

Postcard - dreamy landscape 3-16 small

dreamy landscape – postcard – March 2016

12 thoughts on “Postcard from a dreamy landscape

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. The paper came from a sample pack I bought from Blick, I think made for kids, cost maybe 3 dollars? I’ve gotten a lot of use out of it. !!!

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Well, it was a 2 inch or so square, the pack is random, it might be something expensive, but not in this form. Fine with me, I felt no worry at using it!

  3. Krista D Lai

    I love the contrast of the translucent and opaque papers- really contributes to the feeling of depth. Also love the white “moon/star/light/fairy…” floating in the sky!! Your ability to get a compelling landscape while using such restraint is inspiring.

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I generally tend to want to put too much in a picture and I have to work at stopping before I get things too busy. I’m getting better at controlling my urge to ornament and instead stay with the basics, and I think things turn out better when I can do this!

Leave a Reply

