Two Architectural People in Their Own Worlds

I cut out lots and lots of these figures, usually from the brown paper grocery bags we get. I like the paper they use. And then I paint them, usually.

After I have a whole collection, I make a lot of cards or collages or ATC’s, and I sort the people around to see if they might fit into any of the environments I have created.

Someone called them “architectural people” and so that’s how I think of them.

Here are a couple of personalities. The woman is coming down the stairs into my studio, via photo, of course. The dunk shot guy is hoping not to strain anything as he relives his high school basketball-playing days, maybe. He should know better than to play ball in the house, I think, but the spotlight was on him, and he couldn’t resist.

6 thoughts on “Two Architectural People in Their Own Worlds

  1. Laura (PA Pict)

    Thanks for sharing your thinking. It’s an interesting insight. I love the one of the figure descending the stairs. There’s something quite looming and intimidating about that one.

Leave a Reply

