Plein Air Update – See the Final Results

Now that I’m back from my Poetry Marathon of last week, I want to catch up on another event before it gets too far into the past. You may remember that I participated in a plein air event in Chestnut Hill on June 12 – here are the versions I ended the day with. Two smaller pieces and one larger one.

Now, I’ll show you each painting, its progression at the event, and where it finished up after some work on it at home. First up, Avenue.

Next, Surly Street.

Finally, Best Time.

13 thoughts on “Plein Air Update – See the Final Results

  1. memadtwo

    Your originals are much brighter than the finished paintings. Was it intentional to tone down the colors? The influence of the open air? I actually like the garishness of the first one, although the finished product has a mystery that the original lacks. (K)

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    You know, I can’t explain it. This is a true portrayal of my usual process – each painting goes through a lot of stages and each one for some reason, dissatisfies me until I get to the one that doesn’t, and then I stop. I think it may have something to do with change in mood, energy, whatever, from the plein air day to the days I worked on them again? I knew at the plein air event I was not happy and I considered them only a start. I do know that one thing I didn’t like was the thinness of colors layers on the earlier ones – I like a LOT of depth and I find I need more time to accomplish this. Hope this helps, I guess I don’t know the answer myself!

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I am happy with how they turned out, and I learned something about the way I like to work. I will not be so hard on myself when my initial efforts are not pleasing me, plein air has taught me that!

  4. ken riddles

    Love the last two under Best Time – esp. last one – the way the shapes interlock and the colour choices you have made – naturalistic ‘abstraction’ great!

  5. Pingback: Drawing With a Pen #3 | Claudia McGill and Her Art World

Leave a Reply

