Art Camp Day 10 – August 12

Today marks the last day of Art Camp Claudia McGill. I have made reservations for later on. I liked it here!

Today’s activity was collage.

Now, I’ve made a lot of collages over the years, way too many to count. But here I was thinking of a specific kind of collage. I wanted to combine pen and ink drawings with magazine photos and/or painted papers, using the latter as the inspiration for what kind of person or objects should be included so as to make a little environment, maybe with enough of a story to get people to look at it and wonder about what is going on.

So I gathered up some 5″ x 7″ canvases on board (the very inexpensive ones I used for my Small Landscape Project earlier this year); painted papers I did at various times in the past (I have a drawer full); drawing paper; a pen (this time a standard drawing pen rather than a dip pen); acrylic paints; India ink; and some of my copies of Architectural Digest discarded from our library.

canvases small 8-12-16

OK. I started off with an interior scene. I chose a background painted paper, a piece of furniture, and then drew a little figure to fit. As I went along I arranged the pieces to see how they might look before I glued them.

Or, here’s a progression:

I realized I forgot to connect the lamp to the socket on the wall with a cord. Well, there is a certain reality inside a work of art, isn’t there, and maybe they have discovered how to get the power from the wall to the lamp, cord free? Let’s say it is so.

I next did a couple of city scenes. This one:

And this one.

.

Finally, a couple more interiors. Here:

And here.

So there you have it. I have amended reality and enjoyed doing it. I liked inserting the little drawings into the collage; I think doing so let me turn the composition into anything I wanted, since I could manufacture my own image of a book, say, rather than finding one. The existing elements of the collage led me to the next step, and so on.

This idea is certainly true of all collage, but here I could reach into the image-box in my mind and take out just what I wanted, which is not always the case in collage work – you use what you find or have on hand. I liked the combination of drawing and collage and I think they enhanced each other. I’ll do this activity again.

8 thoughts on “Art Camp Day 10 – August 12

  1. Manja Mexi Movie

    I love the last one, with windows and trees, and the half-closet door of the second to last. In the case of the first I thought the very first stage, just the figure and the sofa, was already great. There are SO many possibilities with this technique. Great idea for your personal, custom-made, one-participant camp!

  2. memadtwo

    The half-door interior is my favorite, although watching the first one come together step by step was a lot of fun…like stop animation. Your inventiveness never ceases to amaze me.
    A camp like this would be perfect for August anywhere! (K)

  3. Laura (PA Pict)

    These are such fun! I love the contrast between the colourful paint and collage elements and the monochrome ink drawings. There’s a contrast and a cohesion going on simultaneously. I think you should do more of these.

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. That is one thing about collage, many choices and paths the picture can take. I like the fact that I can go forward or back up. Not like painting. You cannot erase a paint stroke. I also am really liking drawing. Something I am not used to, so each one is an adventure, and that, in the end, is what I like about art. Exploring.

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I think camping got me through a couple of very dull weeks in a happier style, and, I discovered some new paths to follow. Glad I made the time to do so. I wish I had taken more photos of the later pictures, but…I got involved and forgot!

  6. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, thank you, I think so too. I did not know how the combination would go, so I just decided to try and see if I could make things work. And it combines collage and drawing and painting, even better. I like practicing art with more than one technique like that now that I have more mediums to draw upon.

  7. Jeanette Clawson

    The drawing and collage definitely enhance each other! I love the people on couches! And the socket made me giggle, even more when you pointed out the absence of the cord. So much fun.

  8. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you! Architectural Digest is my muse on a lot of things these days as I really love doing things with furniture. Once I see a sofa I just can’t help myself…and I also like light sockets, whether or not anyone knows how to use them!

Leave a Reply

