Squarely In View #1

Let me interrupt the black-and white drawing theme for a bit. I have some very loud voices clamoring to be heard. A colorful crowd.

Background: remember the puzzles I made in Art Camp Claudia McGill? (If not, look here. I will wait).

All right, so you know that I had a large supply of 2″ x 2″ Stampbord/Claybord squares. I felt the urge to work on some tiny compositions, so I chose the ones left after the puzzle project. First I swashed India ink markings on them and let them dry thoroughly.

Next, I used my scratch art tools (also a camp activity, thank you, Art Camp!) to make marks in the ink.

Then, as I watched TV at night, I colored each little square. Not thinking too much about it, just going however I did. I used Prismacolor and Tombow brush markers, of which I have a small collection.

In a few cases I did a little more work on a square with the scratch art tools, but most of them I left alone. I sprayed them with matte fixative (outside, please, the smell is pervasive and lingering) and now I have a collection of tiny artworks.

I have no idea what to do with them, but it is fun to arrange them in groups and play with them that way. Sooner or later I am sure some idea will come to me, or maybe this is it.

So here are a few for you to see. More coming.

Squares 2x2 8-16 Small creatures small

 

Squares 2x2 8-16 Group 5 small

11 thoughts on “Squarely In View #1

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I did the ink marks in one session, then I color them one at a time, while watching TV or the like. It’s a very peaceful calming project, this kind of thing, and I like to have projects like this around just for that purpose. How they turn out is sometimes not the point, but with this one, I love how they all look together and that I can rearrange them.

Leave a Reply

