Drawing With a Pen #7

Here are some more pen and ink drawings. Today’s theme is Glenside, PA.

Things can be confusing in my neck of the woods, knowing where you are and what to call it, but if you are from around here, you know. Otherwise, it can be a bit of a blur. Glenside is just a perfect example.

Glenside is a small town about a mile from my house. I say “town”, but really, if you were a bird in the air, you’d see an unending array of houses, streets, and buildings. Suburbia. Glenside is in there, but, as I said…

Anyway, it stretches along Easton Road and works its way through two townships, Cheltenham and Abington – with two business districts, one in each township. Not to mention another smaller one along Keswick Avenue, the other main street that parallels Easton Road. So we have Abington Glenside and Cheltenham Glenside. And then that section where Ralph’s Barbershop is, and the bakery and you know, right where the train overpass is…

Are you with me?

Because Glenside is also a large post office. Zip code 19038 is for Glenside, yes, but it also covers Wyndmoor, for instance, in Springfield Township, about 5 minutes down Route 309. The post office is not interested in Glenside or Wyndmoor; it cares about 19038 – but the rest of us know that Wyndmoor is not Glenside. It just isn’t.

Ditto for Ardsley, North Hills, and Laverock. If you live there, you live in 19038, but you don’t live in Glenside.

Sometimes things are tricky – when the LA Fitness was built, there was some confusion by locals as to what to call it, since it is set at a street intersection that could go Abington or Glenside or Jenkintown – but it’s all ok now, having decided to name itself the Abington location – but I still think it should be Glenside.

After all of this, you can see why Glenside is just one of those special places! Here are some drawings of Glenside locations, wherever they are. I did the first two from photos and the second two on site.

Here’s a drawing of a truck parked in the Glenside Library parking lot. I don’t know where the occupants of the truck went or why the door was left open.

Drawing truck Glenside Library 7-16 6x6 small

This house, converted into apartments, is next door to my dentist’s office on Mt. Carmel Avenue.

Drawing House Glenside 7-16 6x6 small

Here is a storefront alongside Glenside Avenue, near my doctor’s office. I like the little store below ground level, under the porch – you have to take a short flight of steps down to get to it.

Drawing Glenside- 1 7-29-16 small

And this is a view of the parking lot of the Glenside train station. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve come to this station, coming, going, dropping off, picking up, or eating lunch in the station café. The buildings in the picture are actually across the tracks – the station itself is not in the picture. Maybe a subject for another day.

Drawing Glenside- 2 7-29-16 small

Viva Glenside!

8 thoughts on “Drawing With a Pen #7

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes. They are related, in that both are contemplative and I like how, the more I look, the more I see, photo or actual scene, and so I really feel I know the location when I’m done. The photo is less – emotional, maybe – the scene is filtered already by being a photo and it has already had some decisions made about it. Finite. I usually draw from the center out, so, on site, there is a limitless choice of how far to go (except for the paper size, and I could choose just to keep adding pages), and also, what exactly to focus on. The photo kind of flattens all this out to just what you can see in the photo. But I prefer a photo for people, at least so far, because I am unskilled in capturing people and a photo freezes them so I can study them.

  2. Andrew McGill

    Again, I love these. Such a neat mixture of precision and simplicity, but human-feeling too. Looking forward to seeing more of the live-drawn ones.

    On Wed, Sep 7, 2016 at 5:10 AM, Claudia McGill and Her Art World wrote:

    > Claudia McGill posted: “Here are some more pen and ink drawings. Today’s > theme is Glenside, PA. Things can be confusing in my neck of the woods, > knowing where you are and what to call it, but if you are from around here, > you know. Otherwise, it can be a bit of a blur. Glenside ” >

  3. Jeanette Clawson

    I love the look of these drawings. Are you using an art pen or just what you have on hand? I used a ball point pen for a mandala the other day and it was kind of frustrating, but it was what I had in my purse. I’m really enjoying this series.

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you! I feel encouraged by this! As for pens, I have bought a few art pens specifically for drawing, such as Pigma, Zig Millenium, Sakura, Marvy. Just trying them out. For me, I like the really fine tipped ones, .05 or .1, though I tried thicker tipped ones as well; and I have bought some sketchbooks with really smooth paper, having tried several kinds and that’s what suits me. I bought them from Blick and from Jet Pens, none of the higher-priced ones, just moderate-priced selections. I’ve spent some time experimenting to see which ones just feel nicest. Like paint, the process is as important as the result.

Leave a Reply

