Gather Yourself Together

This painting won second prize in the Oils and Acrylics category at the Lansdale Festival of the Arts in August.

It’s done on canvas – a surface I don’t usually use because I find it bouncy to paint on. Obviously I am not gently stroking paint but instead stabbing it onto the support if I’m testing the springiness of my painting surface…

But I bought this one because I liked the size – 24″ x 24″ – and the shape – square.

Intriguing to see where inspiration can come from. In this case, an unfamiliar surface and size.

"Gather Yourself Together", March, 2016, 24" x 24", acrylics.

“Gather Yourself Together”, March, 2016, 24″ x 24″, acrylics.

14 thoughts on “Gather Yourself Together

  1. agnesashe

    Congratulations. The image is lively and energetic and I like the way the tones become more muted towards the top as if gathering yourself becomes a quieter and calmer existence.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. This painting sort of created itself in that I had no idea what I wanted to do when I started off, but it finished up in a good way, once I saw where it seemed to be going. That is another reason for the title – sometimes a creation has to gather itself together and emerge, I think.

  3. millner2000

    A nice painting – gather yourself together – congratulations.

    On Monday, September 12, 2016, Claudia McGill and Her Art World wrote:

    > Claudia McGill posted: “This painting won second prize in the Oils and > Acrylics category at the Lansdale Festival of the Arts in August. It’s done > on canvas – a surface I don’t usually use because I find it bouncy to paint > on. Obviously I am not gently stroking paint but inst” >

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. This painting did not emerge in my usual way, just kind of happened, and I was not sure when to stop, but then I put the figure in, and suddenly it all fell into place. Funny how that happens sometimes, one part needed, and when it’s there – done!

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. And also for your postcard. I’m planning an email reply maybe today or if not, tomorrow. Sorry for not doing it before, I’ve been out of the house several days. Xo

Leave a Reply

