Clay from Art Camp Claudia McGill – Word Tiles

Do you remember the word tiles I made in Art Camp Claudia McGill? As a refresher, here they are, just formed:

Here they are, bisque-fired and still on the kiln shelf:

Clay in kiln 4 8-16 small

And now – drum roll – here they are, finished. To produce this effect, I swashed Velvet underglaze over the whole tile and then scrubbed it off the flat surfaces, leaving it in the pressed-in letters to form the words. I decided not to put a shiny glaze on them – I liked them as is.

16 thoughts on “Clay from Art Camp Claudia McGill – Word Tiles

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    The stark white clay really sets the underglazes off, and the technique I use to get the color into the indentations is the reason for the variations – I can’t control exactly how much washes off. Gives the whole thing a nice uneven look that makes it not so manufactured looking.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. The tiles will speak, somehow, but I don’t know exactly. In the past I have grouped them in threes and given them away in that way. I may try it again. Results are unknown, since I sort of just made tiles of words that came into my mind at the time, no thought to associating them…

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you! And I love words and print too, always have, ever since I first learned to read. These words are just a random assortment that occurred to me as I was doing this project, funny which ones came to my mind!

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    Feel free to use these words anyway you like, I have no idea what I am going to do with them next! In the pictures I just set them randomly and enjoyed seeing if they were trying to say anything to me…I am not totally sure, it may be too cryptic for me…

  5. Manja Mexi Movie

    Thank you for your permission. This has happened:

    Sleep sail, nail joy.
    Agree, moon turn verb,
    eye pair prove quiet under xray.
    No luck.
    Go ask gel,
    try best year.
    Ow, big atom
    aloof by upper jewel over hike:
    high omen cat,
    who mix hope, ion, urge,
    is mild.
    Oh tell quote,
    stay.
    Do feet drag? Sorry leaf.
    Tear key skirt,
    peel pearl,
    veil up sun,
    earn new lit wary joke.
    Ah kind cloud, jump
    firm iron & begin zoom.
    Dare be.
    Hold rust top.
    Cry.

  6. Claudia McGill Post author

    This is just fantastic. Honestly, these were just random words and I never thought that they would hang together. So many images you bring up, so visual. I’m once again reminded of the potential when words and a creative mind combine.

Leave a Reply

