Truck Toiling Along the Turnpike in Pennsylvania

Sure, you could tell all that anyway, just from the picture, right?

I did this little drawing as my husband drove us west along the PA Turnpike in fall, 2015, on our way to Pittsburgh for our son’s wedding. I get nervous on the highway and doing things like this helps me focus my thoughts elsewhere. It’s just a little thing, this drawing, but I thought it captured the effort a truck has to make making its way through the hills and mountains of western Pennsylvania.

I added the color later, and then tore it out of the notebook and pasted it on this recycled cardboard postcard that I had painted in acrylics.

postcard-2-6-30-16-small

8 thoughts on “Truck Toiling Along the Turnpike in Pennsylvania

  1. Laura (PA Pict)

    Great drawing. I love that you’ve used such spare lines to create it. It makes me think of those really simple Picasso drawings that’s punchy because it’s so spare.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I liked it and then I felt as if I had revealed myself as doing utterly childish work and daring to call it a drawing. But I did enjoy riding along drawing the traffic in front of me. You have to work fast, the scene changes so quickly.

  3. Maria Geary

    Reminds me of making our way home on I-81 North traveling to Harrisburg. It also inspires me to draw (or sometimes even scribble), but the point is to draw which builds confidence. Thanks so much for the nudge to keep trying.

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I am trying to improve drawing skills and my confidence in them. The more I practice I feel I am finding it easier to get things to work out. And everyone here in the blog world encouraging me means a lot.

Leave a Reply

