Rapunzel Tower

I’ve always liked the fairy tale “Rapunzel”. I can’t say why – for one thing, I’ve always thought Rapunzel needed to rely on herself a bit more. I felt I could have knocked the old witch down and made a run for it, so why couldn’t she?

So thinks a girl of about six years old, listening to her grandmother read the story to her before bedtime.

Anyway, I’ve made some of these towers, all about a foot high or so, in the past, but they were done in earth-toned glazes in stoneware clay.

This time I’ve used lowfire white clay and painted it in Velvet underglazes. This tower is not going to be lost in any forest, believe me.

Here is a view of the front of the tower, and the little door I made from sticks picked up in my yard.

Here is a 360 degree view of the tower. I have gone a quarter turn each time – you either see the side, or an angle view involving two sides, in order, all the way around.

Here are some details of the color work.

This tower was a lot of fun to make.

12 thoughts on “Rapunzel Tower

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I’m happy with how it turned out. Sometimes I overdo the colors and this time I think it worked out. Plus I love making buildings in clay.

  2. marthabilski

    Lovely tower. Maaybe Rapunsel sectretly wished to sit a while in her tower before being whisked away to a noisy castle. Especially one like this.
    As for me, I always wondered about the Princess and the Pea. Really Princess? A pea?Especially since the only peas I ever saw were the canned squishy ones. I saw a lovely ceramic stack of matresses at a museum gift store in Houston. It did evoke fairytales, as does this brilliant tower.
    Sorry for the twisted tenses. Think Beanstalks.

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I would love to see this tower built full size in real life, just like those buildings you are referencing (I would need to come up with an interior plan for the tower; as the real estate developers say, it’s ready for the right owner to make it his or her own…Seriously, I enjoyed making this – I feel very free in painting all over it, there are no rules!

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    I know what you mean and I understood everything you said! Especially about the Princess and the Pea. That story, for a long time, I could not understand it all as my acquaintance with peas was limited to the canned ones, as you mention! And all I could think of was, what a mess a can of peas would be if you lay down on them…

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. Without realizing it I have elements of other fairy tales, like the vine, maybe it’s a beanstalk? And the flower garden, reminding me of the beginning of the story, when the witch came upon Rapunzel’s mother in her garden, but there are always magic flowers in fairy tales, even beyond this story…

Leave a Reply

