Houses and Trees. A Theme?

As I look over the photos of paintings I’ve done over the last year, say, I notice I am painting trees and houses over and over again. I do not know why. I don’t really care why. I’m enjoying it.

Having said that, here are some tree paintings I did, all at one time (meaning I had all three on my table at once and worked on them at the same time, going from one to the other). So they are siblings? cousins? crewmates? or at least good friends by now? Although I notice one has decided to title itself expressing a different opinion.

Each one was painted in acrylics on canvas board, 8″ x 10″ in April, 2016.

 

 

10 thoughts on “Houses and Trees. A Theme?

  1. Manja Mexi Movie

    I love your options: “siblings? cousins? crewmates?” 🙂 And the caption of the first sits nicely like that. It’s good to picture you moving from one to the other, having them all in check, telling them all will be good in the end.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. You have such a pleasant image of me at work, I like it, and really, it’s pretty much true, although at times, like unruly workmates, there is dissension in the ranks and things don’t go as planned – even a painting has its own mind, I think…

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    This is a way I love to work. I think grouping paintings like this encourages me to go further into each individual one than I would with just the one.

  4. galeriaredelius

    I do think they are “siblings”, and I think you are a great parent, letting themselves develop individually! There is a very clear “family DNA” running through them, but it’s not in any way destroyed or limited, I would say, it’s really supported.

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I tend to over-work a painting if I just do one at a time, especially if it is small, because I paint quickly and I’m impatient. So doing more than one allows time for drying and a little reflection! I then enjoy seeing how the group turns out, similarities and differences. Thanks for what you said, sometimes I wonder if I’m too repetitive when I do things this way!

  6. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I have a pile of these small canvas boards and the size (and the price of each) is such a small investment and so I feel free to just let myself wander. I like the process and the results! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

