Looks Like Today

About a month ago I was waiting in the car in the parking lot at Lorimer Park while my husband finished up his run. My plan to practice sketching and a few free moments collided and sparked the idea of drawing to fill this little bit of time. So I pulled out my 6″ x 6″ sketchbook and got to work.

The scene is the corner of the parking lot – there is a fence and then the woods layer themselves behind it. At the park, I drew in pen, and I added the colors (Tombow and Prismacolor brush tip pen markers) at home.

Things still look pretty similar at the park – the trees are a jumble of yellows and greens and the undergrowth has disappeared, revealing the vertical lines of tree trunks crossed by skinny branches. I love the disorderly look the landscape has at this time of year and I hoped to capture that in this drawing.

I haven’t been using color in these sketches in my sketchbook, but I like the way this one looks. Hmmm… I feel some new ideas coming on, pen and ink and markers…

pen-and-ink-drawing-lorimer-park-9-16-small

15 thoughts on “Looks Like Today

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I’m still figuring things out but my mind works in the way that turns everything into a pattern or a simple shape. OK, I’ll go with it, I said, and ever since, I’ve felt like I’ve found a way into this drawing thing. Not THE way in, but my way in, that’s what I hoped for.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. Funny what an ordinary scene really looks like, when you take the time to examine it, and I am finding that by drawing, I really have to pay attention and so I notice things I never did before. Wow! That’s something I hadn’t expected.

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. Yes, I think so to, looking back at your painting. I have always liked how trees stretch to the sky and the positions of their branches to me is open-armed and joyful.

Leave a Reply

