Odds and Ends, Clay Version

In any clay session I am left with small bits of clay at the end. Usually they are dry and not very workable. I do various things with it so as not to waste it. Here are some examples from a couple of October days.

You see a tiny tile. I am fond of making these little talisman-like objects. This one is about 2″ x 2″.

The clay “rocks” are balls of clay (they have to dry an extra long time before being fired so that they will not explode in the kiln) with impressions punched into them and then colored with Velvet underglaze.

The sunshines are a variation of the ones I used to make – instead of putting their features on in relief work, I incised them with a rubber-tipped tool.

8 thoughts on “Odds and Ends, Clay Version

  1. Laura (PA Pict)

    What a creative way to use up spare bits. Those little sunshines are the type of things people like to keep in their pockets as charms I think – my boys keep things like that in their treasure boxes. I think the pebbles are glorious. I can see those gathered in a dish looking very tactile.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I got the pebble idea from a friend – she made pebble-like objects but hers were finished in raku. I also like the way the sunshines turned out – I’ll be using this technique again.

  3. Alice

    Aaah, Claudia McGill faces! I love them all, and want to pinch all their cheeks.

    (Also — since I have gotten woefully behind in my blog-reading and didn’t get to this one before the comments were closed — I just want to tell you how much I enjoyed your Rapunzel tower. The whimsy of it, the tiny sticks, and the fairy tale revisioning you shared. ❤ !!! )

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. And as for Rapunzel tower, what a lot of fun it is to make such a thing. And I’m glad you liked the door, I admit that little idea suddenly came to me in one of those serendipity moments – from twigs in the driveway!

Leave a Reply

