Art Auction and I Get Into Action

Not too long ago I received an invitation to submit work to an art auction sponsored by the Allentown (PA) Academy of the Arts Alliance. This group is a non-profit created to support the Academy of the Arts program at William Allen High School.

The auction takes place on November 20 and is composed entirely of works 8″ x 8″. Though I have no connection with the school, I have many Allentown friends and have shown my work in the city for years. It’s been a very supportive place for me and I am glad to have a chance to say thank you.

So I got out some 8″ x 8″ boards, pre-primed in a smooth finish and with a 3/4″ cradle. This way, I can just paint around the edges in black when the paintings are finished and they won’t require framing. I decided I’d make four paintings – I do a better job on small pieces when I have a group of them and I don’t focus all my attention on one. I do tend to paint quickly – I finish before I’m ready to stop – I want to keep painting, and so I go on and ruin something. If I have a group, I bounce from one to the other. Problem solved.

This time, I took some pictures as I progressed. I am a bit hesitant to reveal the absolute chaos I start with, but eventually, thank goodness, it all works out ok.

I chose some photos to serve as references. Each scene means something to me in my daily life. I hope that auction viewers will see something in them as well that might induce a desire to bid.

So here goes. First up, a scene at the Jenkintown (PA) train station, in the wintertime.

Next, a line of vehicles parked along the fence at the gas station we go to in Abington, PA.

My living room. I did a pen and ink sketch of this same photo not too long ago and thought it might be fun to try a painted version.

And this last one is a scene from Allentown – it’s a house near West Park, where I do an art show each summer.

Now – here is my group of paintings, all at once. I’m happy with how they turned out.

13 thoughts on “Art Auction and I Get Into Action

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. You know, I think it’s kind of a hit or miss thing – I know when I start out that I’m nowhere near the final look, but how far I have to go – no idea – it’s something you feel your way through, I think, getting to the final image. I like the process, though, so it works for me, don’t know if other people would find it so.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I enjoyed the challenge of making them while trying to think of what might appeal to the audience and also be something I wanted to paint. It turned out to be a fun experience.

  3. galeriaredelius

    It’s so interesting for me as a “non-painter” to follow the process. Painting is really a mystery (or magic) of colours, and it’s a gift to be able to use them the way you do. I wonder, do you notice that you have a tendency to use certain colours when you are in certain moods?

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, I do see that I focus on certain colors or combinations in certain sessions, but I am not sure what it is related to, mood or sometimes I think it’s impatience with the colors I used the last time? I also have a million tubes of paint, since I don’t mix the colors, I just paint layer and use it straight out of the tube, so, sometimes, I choose based on colors that are new to me. So, I do think the choices swing around, but it seems to happen somewhere inside my head that I can’t get to!

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    I had some trepidation as to showing the process as I think it makes me look kind of like-I have no idea what I am doing – but, the facts are the facts, and somehow I end up getting there, so it all ends well.

  6. Jeanette Clawson

    I totally understand! I have enjoyed seeing the process other artists go through and that inspired me to eventually share my process, too. I’m so glad you decided to share, too.

Leave a Reply

