Cat-A-Rama

Continuing my obsession with cat tiles, here are some more, made in October, 2016.

clay-tile-cat-group-10-16-small

They are all done on white lowfire clay. I rolled out leftover clay from other projects to make the tiles; that accounts for the irregular shapes. I bisque-fired them and then got to work painting the cats – I used Velvet underglazes.

I painted the surface of each tile in a color, usually black, but not always –  let it dry, and then did the cat image on top, scratching through the colors down to the base color to make lines. So you can see that the outlines vary from cat to cat, depending on what color I used. I liked this little twist to the process.

13 thoughts on “Cat-A-Rama

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Living with cats over the years has made me love them and beg for their approval more than I want to admit. I’d like to return as a cat in my next life! Thank you.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. Funny how these little guys develop such a personality with only a few lines, they go from shapes to – CATS! I think this is why I love making them.

Leave a Reply

