Me

Today is my birthday. This painting is an autobiography, as it has turned out, though I didn’t know it was going to be when I started it.

I had a couple of large canvases with paintings on them that I had done some years ago. As I do, I had lost interest in them and so as not to waste all that acreage, I decided to paint something new. Here is what emerged.

When asked recently, I said that all I want to do in life is take care of my house, exercise, do art, and write poems. In this painting, I am outside with my cat, sitting down to a table, where I’ll do some kind of art or writing, I guess. My house in the background is orderly and I went to the park earlier to run or walk.

OK, that’s the story!

"My Life" - acrylics, 40" x 30", November, 2016.

“My Life” – acrylics, 40″ x 30″, November, 2016.

28 thoughts on “Me

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you, and I guess it may be my version of Utopia I paint (again and again in different ways). It’s inside my head if nowhere else, if only I have paint and brushes to take me there…

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I’m not sure where this painting came from, they often just happen, it almost seems. I like your thought about the 50’s. Especially since I am from the 50’s !

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you! I keep on putting one front in front of the other and today reminds me, I do make progress. Mostly forward. I’m looking for a great art and poetry year this year, full speed ahead!

  4. Jeanette Clawson

    I hope you get lots of art supplies for your birthday and have a generally wonderful day. I love this portrait of you and your cat and house. You even have some trees! So many favorite things makes this the perfect painting for your birthday.

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. Yes, this painting (plus the one I am showing tomorrow) are somehow more personal to me than many I’ve done lately – don’t know why, and I only realized after they were done. Well, we do go through a journey every time we get out the art supplies. And believe me, I will be treating myself to some good art stuff very soon – we’re making a trip to the store tomorrow, even, maybe!

  6. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you! I hope to make this next year a very art and poetry filled one, and I look forward to losing myself in these two pursuits and hoping to do some good work.

  7. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. Yes, I think, in the end, my hopes are very straightforward and something I really can actually attain, finally learning the value of this kind of thinking at a later time of life, maybe, but not too late!

Leave a Reply

