Happy Swag Bag 2016

Each December I participate in a great art and craft show in Allentown, PA – the indiemade craft market. The brainchild of two women who care a lot about quirky, individual, high-quality work, it’s been going on for years now. It is one of my two favorite shows, and these two people are a big reason why.

One feature of the show is the swag bag giveaway – the first 50 shoppers in the door get a bag full of treats from us vendors. People line up two hours before the show, standing in snow, rain, and cold, to get one.

Now, I take my clay work to this show, and so the swag bag items I contribute are small clay items. But I’ve also developed my own tradition of giving a small gift to Ann and Teri. I want to thank them for all they do to put together this wonderful show – a show I think of as a holiday party, to tell you the truth.

I don’t restrict myself to clay – this year I made two tiny (4″ x 4″) paintings, one for each of them. Here they are for you to see.

13 thoughts on “Happy Swag Bag 2016

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    The tiny space forces brevity and I liked working within it – I think it pushed me in this direction and I like the results. I tend to want to overwork things. Sometimes a little is more an enough.

  2. Carol A. More

    Claudia, how thoughtful of you to gift them to people who work their tails off so we can display and sell our art. I love these two pieces and bet they were much appreciated. Once again, you inspire me.

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I had wondered if they were too simple. I have tended toward “more” but I am finding that paring down, or concentrating on less, is actually “more”. A challenge and also calming to me as I work.

Leave a Reply

