Triplets – From the Same Pattern

Three personalities from one pattern.

Let’s start off with the seated figures in the first two postcards – they are twins, just mirror images of each other.

I cut them out of paper, as I do many of my figures – but in this case I cut two of them, having folded the paper. Voila! Twins.

You can see that once they got into their individual environments, each one underwent an evolution. They have less resemblance now and are living very different lives, I think.

Then there is a third party to consider. This person came to be via the technique of stenciling – I placed one of the cutout figures on top of a painted background and painted over her. A little bit of outlining with my pen and you see a lady sitting beside the ocean.

And if you think about it, you now can see the relationship between this lady and the turquoise blue lady in the second picture above…

postcard-lady-sitting-on-a-rock-by-the-ocean-7-16-small

I can’t remember if I have used this figure, either the paper cut-out or a stenciled version, before. It’s entirely possible.

5 thoughts on “Triplets – From the Same Pattern

  1. Laura (PA Pict)

    These are great. I like the idea of the repetition and also that message of “same but different”. I imagine that’s something quite prominent in the minds of twins as they forge individualities instead of being “the twins”.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    I’ve always wondered about the push-pull of similarity and individuality in duplicates type situations. People. Prints. Having a closeness while also maintaining separation.

Leave a Reply

