Hurt Leg

Hi Everyone,

I am sure you wonder what I mean by this post’s title. I’ll start off by saying – No, I don’t have a hurt leg.

And then I’ll continue by saying – But…

On Christmas morning my husband fell down the stairs and severely injured his left leg – a complete tear of the quadriceps tendon. He also had a sprained right ankle.

So, we went to the emergency room and learned that the ankle will heal in a couple of weeks. The left leg, though, is in bad shape and will need surgery (scheduled for January 6). After that, there is a recovery and rehabilitation time of about 4-6 months to walking again – then more months of bringing the leg back to normal strength and agility. Really, it will be next Christmas before things are fully healed.

So, I will be busy managing the situation here for some time. My husband will need assistance with most of the things of everyday life for the next few months.

I wanted to take the time to mention this little speedbump in the road of life – I usually work so that I have posts set up in advance, and I feel sure I’ll be able to keep on participating here in our blog world. I may not be able to get back to you right away on comments, though, but please keep in touch, as I will eventually do so. I also plan to try to stay up with your blogs – being part of this community has become a big part of my life and I depend on my participation in it.

It looks like 2017 is not going to go the way I thought it would, right off the bat! But I am grateful for good medical care and my husband’s determined attitude, as well as my family and friends’ support. Thanks to them, and to all of you, for traveling the road of my creative endeavors with me.

dance-all-night-small

Not now. Maybe in 2018?

18 thoughts on “Hurt Leg

  1. Laura (PA Pict)

    Oh no! I am so sorry to read about your husband’s debilitating injury. I hope he responded superbly well to treatment and makes a full recovery. Participate in the blog world whenever you can. No need to apologize for any stepping back.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    It’s kind of hectic now but it will get better once we get past the surgery. I think I’ll be keeping up here (means a lot to me) since I will not be running around as much, either and it’s a way to get out, if you know what I mean! Thanks so much for your good wishes. And I hope things are good at your house.

  3. mim4mail

    Oh, my dear! Life surprises really put a kink into our plans. I so feel for you both.
    I fell in 2015, and ended with a new hip. Recovery does take time. Hugs

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    I enjoy singing but others don’t enjoy me doing it!. My husband, neither singing or listening that much. But, I agree music is important, and getting lost in a melody or so on does something nice for your stress.

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I expect we’re going to have some adventures in the next few weeks, of a rather strange kind (such as maneuvering our way through appointments and therapy and so on)but I feel we’ll come through ok. I appreciate your support.

  6. Carol A. More

    Have mercy, Claudia! And what a speedbump, too. First, sending light and healing to your husband – can’t imagine what you all have gone through so far. Second, we both know every speedbump in life yields incredible insight through our art and the very way we express ourselves during this lifetime. And hope…as an Ayurveda practitioner I know with certainty that the mind is pivotal in healing. Stay hopeful and positive and I am looking forward to your updates saying your husband is healing much faster than those ‘average’ projections! Blessings to all in your life and reach out if there’s anything I can do. P.S. Lovin’ your dancer above too. It can be a lovely healing symbol for your husband and he can dance virtually through all his procedures…..XOXO

  7. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I hope to send out subtle hints to the universe and these happy feet images are part of it! Not to sound Pollyanna, but I can see that this swerve on the road of life has meaning for us already. It takes a jolt sometimes to make changes or see the changes coming. Thank you so much for your kind thoughts – they are so much appreciated.

  8. agnesashe

    Gosh, what a ghastly start to 2017. We take rattling up and down stairs for granted and then DISASTER. I wish your husband good luck for his op on Friday and you plenty of energy for the next few months. So pleased to read you have friends and family for support. I agree with memadtwo above, music can be very therapeutic. Wishing you a better rest of the year.

  9. Claudia McGill Post author

    We do take our body working as it should for granted until it doesn’t! Things should go fine for my husband but it will take time and patience. We can do it. Just staying with it, that is the key. You know, regarding music, I listen, but am not dedicated (certainly not a performer). But, thinking about it, it is true. Music has a way of guiding your feelings. I am getting favorites together to have at hand for this purpose. I have to thank the two of you for reminding me of this!

  10. agnesashe

    I think sometimes we listen and are very unaware of the direct effect music can have. Yesterday with the news of the death of John Berger I re-watched the first episode of ‘Ways of Seeing’ on YouTube and in it he suggests we look at a painting in silence, then view it with some music. It was an interesting and challenging experiment.

    Wishing you and your husband better luck after such an unfortunate start to the year.

  11. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I appreciate your gifts. And you are so right in your second sentence – I do believe that this situation is in some ways a call to us to come to consider our life path, in our family and as we are aging, and begin to face this next phase of our reality.

Leave a Reply

