From the Pages of My Sketchbook

I like to take little drawings I’ve made and turn them into postcards. Here is a selection made in August, 2016.

These two I cut out the whole scene and then glued it to a painted postcard background.

This one, the chair, I took the scene and then I gave it a little color with markers, then gluing it on top of some collaged papers:

postcard-4-10-16-small

This one, the electric pole, I cut out from the sketchbook page and then glued it on top of a collaged sky, adding a couple of wires:

postcard-2-10-16-small

I enjoy liberating the pictures from the closed covers of my notebooks and adding them to a new environment.

13 thoughts on “From the Pages of My Sketchbook

  1. Carol A. More

    And I almost forgot….please take good care of yourself, Claudia! Lots of rest and quiet time. It’s difficult to be the caregiver! Sending you light and love….

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Wow, that really sends my mind racing along memory lane – I would love a visit to a drive in movie (in the summer, please). I remember lots of visits in my teen years when we sat out on the hood of the (giant 1970’s) car my friend drove…

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    I had sketches that were on pages with other things, or maybe part of the image was good and the rest not so much, and so I cut out the good parts and decided to see what I could do. This is a good way to make art while sitting and chatting, or semi-watching TV, or the like. And as always restful to push the different papers and so on around to figure out a pleasing mix.

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I think I will have time (and motivation) to do art and poetry work as a rest from the new kinds of thinking I am finding I am doing (such as, how to get a person downstairs who cannot bend one leg at all! I know now…) I feel I’m lucky to have these resources at hand. And the blogs, too. A way to express myself.

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. It’s a good way to use interesting pieces of paper or sketches or whatever, that otherwise might have gotten tossed or never valued.

  6. jmnowak

    Well, all I’ll say is a very bountiful 2017 for you and your loved ones. I enjoy your process and results. Keep ’em coming plz! 🎉🎆✨🎈😎

Leave a Reply

