Getting the Hurt Leg Fixed, Chapter One

I say Chapter One, because there will be many more pieces to this story, but this image is from the beginning of my husband’s journey back to walking again. I did this drawing of my husband before his quad tendon surgery on January 6 – I was sitting with him in the pre-op area before the operation. It calmed my nerves to have something like drawing to focus on.

The surgery went well and the tendon is back in place. Next, we focus on getting him back on his feet! I will be taking my little red plaid bag full of drawing pens and paper and poetry materials (I travel ready for any inspiration to strike!) as we go along and if I see anything interesting, well, I’ll see if I can’t record it somehow.

Pen and ink, 8" x 8", January, 2017.

Pen and ink, 8″ x 8″, January, 2017.

27 thoughts on “Getting the Hurt Leg Fixed, Chapter One

  1. Dana Doran

    Flipping through my sketchbook the other day and there it was….husband, inside hospital room with television on……we have so much in common. On to the healing part, and because of my own experience(s) I wish you good luck and patience!

  2. Art by Norunn

    All the best wishes for a quick recovery for your husband, and a Happy New Year to you both!
    And keep up all the good artwork Claudia, I always enjoy your posts and all your positive comments on my artblog as well, thank you so much!!!

  3. Carol A. More

    Leave it to a creative, talented artist to turn hardship into a tangible, positive healing experience. You are such an inspiration, Claudia. Sending warm, healing light to you both at this time.

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you on all counts. We turn to our favorite activities and thoughts in times of disruption, don’t we? I found doing this drawing calming and kept me going, when I was getting a little stressed.

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you for everything. I always love seeing what you present on your blog – there is something about your work that always draws me in and leads to thoughts and imaginings, and you do this with deceptive ease, because I know it is not easy! I am sure I will have time for art during this time – that’s one thing I count on for a lot of reasons to keep me sane. My husband is doing well and it will just take time to get him on his feet, thank you for thinking of us.

  6. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. Those are just the things I need! And yet in some ways, this event has forced me to take a look at some of my routines and so on, and I am sure it is helping me to focus on some things that needed a change, maybe (sounds terrible, I am using my poor husband’s accident as a reason to examine my own life! But that’s how things seem to happen sometimes).

  7. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you for your good wishes, and also about the drawing. You know, I did not draw or sketch much until recently and never from actual situations like this. But I am finding it calming and soothing, yes, and also, I really like how it forces you to examine your surroundings, and how much more you see, by drawing it.

  8. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you so much. So far, so good. Lots of adjustments. It’s shaking my brain up, mostly in a good way. When something like this happens, you do re-evaluate things that at first don’t seem to have anything to do with the incident (like ripples in water, you know what I mean).

  9. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. Yes, I think I’d rather have the surgery myself than go through that of a loved one. I worried much more about him than I ever did for any of my own surgeries.

  10. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you, and isn’t it something to think about, how many of us turning to pen, pencil, paper, paint, in the face of disruption or worry, and it really helps to cope.

  11. agnesashe

    Oh no it’s not terrible. I think a big shock, and I think it was a shock to both of you, will naturally prompt you to stop, pause and think deeply about your lives.

  12. Claudia McGill Post author

    Exactly. It’s easy to gloss over the impact of what’s on the surface just a fall, and injury that can be fixed, but undergoing it yourself, you see how it affects patterns you thought were set.

  13. Jeanette Clawson

    I’m so happy the surgery went well and I wish you both well in the healing process. Art is such a balm, isn’t it. What would we do without it? I hope I don’t ever have to find out! I really like your sketches. Are they having an impact on how you approach your paintings? I can see more connections among the other media you use and the sketches seem to be a new/different direction. I look forward to seeing how everything (art and healing) goes!

  14. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thanks for all your good wishes. My husband continues to do well but it is a long road ahead. (More chances for art inspirations, let’s see it that way!) I agree, sketching is something different for me and I am still feeling my way. I did not draw much as a child – I more leaned toward putting things together – collage, various crafts, sewing clothes, and so on. But I find the sketching process requires a different pace – slower and more contemplative – and also gets me to really look at what I am depicting, and so I see more, and more, and more details. I am fascinated at how complex our world really is, revealed to me when I try to sketch it.

  15. Claudia McGill Post author

    Oh, it’s so wonderfully appropriate! I have used it myself several times ( the first inadvertently and the other times happily on purpose, making me laugh if no one else…). Thanks so much for your good wishes.

  16. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, and I have wondered at the way these phrases just bubble up at the right time, I guess since you are thinking about the topic with all levels of your mind, and it can’t help but express itself in that same context! But it is still just something that makes you laugh, too, and that is good.

Leave a Reply

