Getting the Hurt Leg Fixed, Chapter Four

Hurt Leg chapters from the past:

Chapter 1

Chapter 2

Chapter 3

Time passes, and the hurt leg saga continues. I drew these little pictures of my husband as he sat in an armchair, watching a Mission Impossible episode as part of a TV marathon one of the channels that shows old shows was doing – last night. I will tell you that he is able to come downstairs now and it’s such a pleasure to have him back here, returned from his upstairs exile.

I did several little pictures and was not satisfied with any of them in total, maybe; but taken together, well, you will see a portrait of where the hurt leg is on January 15, last night.

24 thoughts on “Getting the Hurt Leg Fixed, Chapter Four

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. He says it is actually pretty comfortable. I am more happy that it is strong and keeps his leg straight! I do know it is heavy, noticed when I take it on or off, it is substantial.

  2. alisonsye

    So sorry to hear about all of this, Claudia. It is extremely frustrating when you can’t get up and about and feel the wind on your face. Wishing him a speedy recovery.
    Love your sketches.
    I don’t know if you know, but I finally finished the decorating. Intend to get artwork (including yours) up on the walls over the next few weeks. Hopefully, get something in the post to you, too, soon x

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you, and fantastic about your home renovations. We live in a house we brought back from the dead so I love the subject and understand the challenges and the satisfaction when it all gets done! I appreciate your good wishes too, and it helps when things get confusing or frustrating to feel such support.

  4. debiriley

    My sincere, best wishes for not only his speedy and full, recovery but also a nice sense of peace and calm for yourself too. I do relate to this. ATM at day 8 of hip surgery. It’s an “experience” lol. Cheers, Debi

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I never drew or sketched in my life (except to make messy drawings in school, or very crude ones to help me lay out a collage) but I decided I’d like to try it (Urban Sketchers being my inspiration in that they draw from life). And I really like it. It is calming, and there is a real element of examining whatever it is you are sketching that I really like. A sense of communion with the scene, almost.

  6. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I feel I’ve got a lot to learn, but I also think experience will teach me, so – I am enjoying practicing for that reason, and also, I find drawing is just very deliberate and meditative, almost.

  7. Carol A. More

    Poor Bob! Love the detail though,especially on the brace – my own leg hurts just thinking about it, Claudia. And he was watching “Mission IMpossible?!” Maybe that will spark his own mission POSSIBLE! (smile). I’m sure he’s used to you sketching him? What a good sport he is.

  8. Claudia McGill Post author

    The brace is pretty comfortable, he says, and it does a really necessary job – his leg must stay in the prescribed position so all the remodeled parts can heal, and then he can begin to walk. But it does look grim. I think he enjoyed being the subject of a sketch, to tell you the truth…

Leave a Reply

