Getting the Hurt Leg Fixed, Chapter Five

Tanka 33. Written today and dedicated to the hurt leg and its healing!…

Snapped tendon. The leg
disobeys direct orders.
The foot occupies
alien territory.
Heal this divide. Walk again.

This morning I took my husband to his first post-op appointment. The staples (18) were removed; I know this only from the result and not from having witnessed it, despite being in the room as it happened (I looked out the window). He is now allowed to put his left foot on the ground and bear a little weight on it. This change makes a lot of difference in his stability.

The brace is still locked in the straight position, but he is allowed to bend his knee when sitting. So I think I will get good at putting this brace on and off!

I drew a few people in the waiting room, but we whisked right through the place today, so I think these little vignettes were done in less than 10 minutes. The room was full of subjects – most seats were taken already at 8:15 in the morning!

Hurt Leg chapters from the past:

Chapter 1

Chapter 2

Chapter 3

Chapter 4

12 thoughts on “Getting the Hurt Leg Fixed, Chapter Five

  1. Laura (PA Pict)

    Great set of gestural drawings. You’ve captured a lot in that brief snippet of time. I’m glad progress is being made with the leg. I liked the idea of “alien territory” applying to the position and location of the leg and also perhaps the alien situation of your husband having to be so rested and out of routine.

  2. Carol A. More

    It’s clear that drawing provides a way to be in the present moment, observing others while wondering what on earth is going on with them! I’m totally following this story with my breath caught in my throat. The staples: Oh my goodness! Sounds like Bob is moving along, so to speak. Blessings…….

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    It’s a slow-motion drama, isn’t it, this healing? I am very nosy, I admit it, and I like to see what’s going on around me. Sketching is just giving me a reason to look at what I was going to examine, anyway!

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. Yes, the whole experience is disorienting for both of us. I went to the gym yesterday and today to a class, and I felt disconcerted that everyone was not consumed with “the hurt leg” but instead just going around on their own business! People talking about all kinds of things in the locker room and not “the hurt leg”!

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. Yes, I am very squeamish. When I have had stitches out myself, I have started crying even before anyone begins the work. So this was not something I wanted to see…

  6. Jeanette Clawson

    Excellent sketches, especially for being so quickly done. I’m glad your husband is making progress. I can’t watch medical procedures either. I don’t even watch medical related tv shows!

  7. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you for both of us. And me too. I get upset at any kind of gore. Although in real life I can overcome it and have done so in an emergency. But otherwise- I prefer not…

  8. Jeanette Clawson

    I’ve had some intensive training to overcome my needle phobia due to my migraines and spinal problems. But I still can’t watch. Here’s to hoping we can both avoid medical unpleasantness in the year ahead!

  9. Claudia McGill Post author

    Needles I’m ok with from years of allergy shots in the 1960’s and 70’s. But this staple thing…I agree. No more health problems, just good health, to all of us, in 2017

Leave a Reply

