Orange and Orange

Two postcards from January, 2017.

Twigs – I printed out a photo of some twigs I had taken – I don’t know when…anyway. And then I colored over it with Caran D’Ache Neocolor II crayons, the water-soluble ones. I attached it to a recycled cardboard background and turned it into a postcard.

Planet – I painted a cardboard background, collaged, it, painted it, and it turned into a depiction of a moon or a planet, hanging very low over the surface of another one – I am hoping it does not fall out of the sky.

14 thoughts on “Orange and Orange

  1. JAEJAEWILLIAMSJONES

    LOVE IT ❤

    On Feb 19, 2017 5:28 AM, “Claudia McGill and Her Art World” wrote:

    Claudia McGill posted: “Two postcards from January, 2017. Twigs – I printed out a photo of some twigs I had taken – I don’t know when…anyway. And then I colored over it with Caran D’Ache Neocolor II crayons, the water-soluble ones. I attached it to a recycled cardboard back”

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I am fascinated by trees, no idea why, and all their details, too. I love your description of these, and I totally agree. Now it’s given me a whole new way to look at them, thank you!

  3. Laura (PA Pict)

    I love the use of map paper, text paper, mark-making, and colour in the second piece. How are you finding the Neocolor II crayons? I enjoy them layered on top of acrylic. I have not really used them as a watercolour substitute.

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I really like the Neo II a lot. I especially like to dip them in water and then use them. They get very creamy. I also use them with Neo I which keep their crayon look. Really, I love the “scribble ” factor.

  5. Laura (PA Pict)

    They are like thick, stubby crayons but really creamy when activated with water. I’ve never got the hang of them but I’ve seen some lovely work using them as an element. I think it’s Faber Castell that makes them.

Leave a Reply

