Finding Shapes in the Chaos of Collage

I made these 5″ x 7″ postcards in October, 2016. I used a method I’ve described before – I took a magazine page, adhered them to the support with acrylic matte medium, and then pulled the page away before the medium completely dried. Some print or picture is left behind when this is done.

Then, I repeated the steps until I was satisfied with the look.

I then took my pen, dipped it into my little bottle of Black Cat India Ink, and drew around the shapes that I saw.

And, before you know it, here are some little scenes. Easy!

20 thoughts on “Finding Shapes in the Chaos of Collage

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    This process is great because it involves two things – one being, just playing around with collage, never mind where it goes. And two, then you suddenly get inspiration from the work you just did to come up with another image. I am sure there could be three, and four, if you wanted, too…Anyway, it’s fun, that’s what keeps me trying this kind of thing. And I’d love to see what you’d do with it.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you, I have no idea how he appeared, or maybe she, but all of a sudden…!!! Another score for just letting your thoughts and feelings flow as they would like to do and see where they go (letting the boat just drift along downstream, I guess…)

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. And they are such a lot of fun to do because there is no telling what the outcome will be of each little project – each one is a stepping out into the unknown!

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. Easy and the kind of thing to work on in a couple of stages, especially nice if the current project is tiring or lacking inspiration, to go and do these collagy things and then later on draw.

Leave a Reply

