Their Meaning is Not Clear

Here are two mail art postcards from January 2017. I painted the backgrounds with acrylics and then –  I stuck on some random words cut from old books.

Invariably the mind tries to make sense of printed words, no matter how they came together. There is often a disjointed or cryptic kind of meaning to these word assortments. I can’t say that’s the case here, but there is always the look of printed matter to fall back on, as an aesthetic thing on its own, right?

11 thoughts on “Their Meaning is Not Clear

  1. Laura (PA Pict)

    To my mind, it doesn’t matter if a clear message doesn’t emerge because I just like the look of the text amid the other colours, media, and texture. There’s just something visually pleasing about words. I feel also like the disjointed nature of some of these text fragments is akin to overhearing snatches of conversation.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, I think there are several ways to see these – I like the visual look of colors and print, and I also like the tantalizing snips of interrupted phrases and sentences. You want to make sense of it, but it’s just out of reach. Something about that appeals to me. I also like the overhearing idea, I think that is perfect.

  3. memadtwo

    I just read a quote from Einstein (of course I can’t remember where) in which he said something about thinking all the time, but then how hard it is to translate into words that make sense. That’s just about right.

  4. Jeanette Clawson

    I love how the top one has words receding into layers of paint. Makes it more mysterious. I have some ATCs that don’t seem quite finished to me and I had contemplated adding a bit of text. I think I will. It really seems to complete these.

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    I think text, whether it can be read or not, or is meant to be, really does something for collage, and I think it’s the irregular regularity of it – limited colors, linear, but not in a pattern. So many possibilities.

Leave a Reply

