Write what?

I drew the pen and ink portion of this postcard from a photo I took of my local library in Glenside, PA. To make it fun, I had turned the photo upside down and drawn it from that view, to challenge myself to draw the shapes, and not the objects.

I think it worked out pretty well. But I had to take things further, I thought, and I stuck it on to a painted recycled-cardboard background, postcard size. There was some room left, so I added the collaged magazine photos.

Still not done, I gave it something to say.

Finally, the process came to a halt. Here is the result.

Postcard - Write what? From December, 2016.

Postcard – Write what? From December, 2016.

10 thoughts on “Write what?

  1. Art by Norunn

    A good creative process, and a great tip for all those who struggle with “the blank syndrom” (I like to paint, but I don’t know what or how to startšŸ˜§) !

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    I really couldn’t believe it when I turned it the right way around and it looked like what it was, just from drawing shapes. And it was fun going through the process and reminding myself, just draw what you see.

Leave a Reply

