Three Examples

Examples of what?

Examples of the paths a mail art postcard can take…

This first one was created by juxtaposing various bits from my favorite collage publication, Architectural Digest – – and some discarded pages from an old book. I cut out items I liked and arranged the pieces into a new picture.

postcard-mismatched-chair-12-16-small

This one, I did while watching TV. I don’t do Zentangle, I just draw patterns, and that’s all there is to it. I took the page out of my sketchbook and put it on a card, painted around it, painted on it. Done.

postcard-17-abstract-designs-1-17-small

This figure came from the same source as the one above – a little notebook I draw in while watching TV. I took the figure and added it to a collaged background, colored it using markers and slapped on a little paint – and called it finished.

postcard-16-bewildered-figure-sitting-in-a-chair-1-17-small

8 thoughts on “Three Examples

  1. Laura (PA Pict)

    I love the way you make each process sound so easy and simple. I really enjoy the variety of art you produce. Even these little pieces demonstrate your diversity.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    I guess that there is someone ready to help out the poor guy, if he can just hang in there? The sun does look concerned, and I don’t know if it will help, itself, or call for assistance, but I think it’s going to turn out ok.

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. What a great thing to say, I hope that by explaining that others might want to try some of the methods, and I am happy to hear things come across in an inviting way. Art is fun, let’s do it! I do like to try different things myself, and postcards are perfect – no big investment of time or money, and portable.

  4. thegreatfish

    I love the way you use lines in your drawings. I love the way you crop photos. Did you put any kind of preservative or clear contact paper on top?

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. !!! Usually I swish some acrylic medium over the finished work. Gloss or matte, either one, depending if I want a shiny or satiny finish. I also use acrylic medium as the “glue”, as well.

  6. Jeanette Clawson

    What a great representation of your mail art! Really different and all uniquely you. You make me want to get architectural digest – maybe I’ll see what the library does with their old ones. One or two should tide me over. Actually, maybe I should get a Restoration Hardware catalogue. I love that. I have mysteriously started getting Glamor magazine and have kept a few with the idea that I could use them in my art. Maybe I’ll try your attach and then pull away before completely dry technique.

  7. Claudia McGill Post author

    I’d love to see what you make of it. As I said, it works best with better quality magazine because of the printing process they use, I think, and the better grade of paper. Flimsy papers just disintegrate and bad inks don’t hold together. I am sure your library will be able to help you. Mine just puts them out for patrons to take after they are a year old. (I get special treatment since I asked for Arch Digest!)

Leave a Reply

