Blurred Vision at Home

How about some more of those blurred photos, the ones where I wave the camera in front of this or that thing and see what happens?

These were done at home. First: tubes of paint piled on a table.

And here, my little green salt and pepper shakers, sitting on the kitchen counter.

Remember, all I did was move the camera, a simple point and shoot machine, nothing fancy. And nothing else is done to these photos. They just emerge.

Of course, there were many more images that were total flops. But when it works, well, I just love the surprises I get.

12 thoughts on “Blurred Vision at Home

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    For every one that turns out ok, there are about 20 that are totally useless. I’d never do this with film. But digital cameras, well, it’s made for them. Just toss the rejects and savor the successes.

  2. mim4mail

    Years ago , when we drove to NYC, we’d stay in NJ because hotels were less expensive. Every night in the dark,we’d drive back from the city, past lit up industrial sights, and I’d hold my point and shoot and snap photos. I got some really interesting shots. I like how yours turned out, too. And yes, digital makes it easier to keep the good ones.

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I’ve taken some nice ones of our suburban little area at night that make it look – out of this world, or cosmopolitan, or threatening. Amazing what can be captured without manipulation (I mean digitally, not the waving the camera around part). I like exploring that aspect of picture taking.

  4. Laura (PA Pict)

    As soon as I saw those salt and pepper shakers, they reminded me of that piece you posted earlier this week where we discussed the impact of that lime-chartreuse colour. The green has the same impact here.

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, I like it for the same reason- it does not require precision or focus like detail work. And, it makes you look at everything differently to try to imagine what has the elements to make a good picture this way. Surprising what has potential that might make a terrible regular photo.

Leave a Reply

