Results Are In – Part 3

I have been working on a group of hand-built bowls and plates for some time. I’ve fired them with their colors and I’ll spend the next few posts going over the results. Here are earlier posts in the series, if you want to take a look back. They are listed in reverse order; read from the bottom up if you want to go in order.

Results Are In – Part 2

Results Are In – Part 1

Kiln Time for the Bowls and Plates

Update on the Hand-Built Bowl Project

Bowls and Plates – Update

The Future Holds a Secret

Today we move on to plates. All of them came out well, and I’m satisfied with the results. I’ve arranged them with their pre-firing selves, so that you can see the difference a couple of thousand degrees can make to a plate…

15 thoughts on “Results Are In – Part 3

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes. I like making faces because the elements are of course predetermined but the execution is always up to me. Restful and creative at the same time.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    No. Of course not. You like what you like. It’s the nature of the underglaze to fire a bit brighter plus my own taste is for high contrast and vivid. So, you could mix or choose colors to produce what you’d like, you’d just need to experiment. That’s what’s good about clay , I think. There is room to change things.

  3. Jeanette Clawson

    I love the surprises of ceramics and this is a lovely group. Will they hang on the wall? I like the idea of them hung in a “conversation group” where they can hang out together, so to speak 😀

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I am not sure what will happen to them, but they could easily be hung on a wall or leaned on a shelf or set in stands, and I like the “conversation group” idea a lot! They do look like they really want to express their opinions, maybe all at once???

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    I can see inspiration in these, funny you say this, because I’ve been thinking lately what my various art objects would be saying in words, if they were using words, instead of images.

  6. Manja Mexi Movie

    Ooooh, my, most excellent. I love it how firing intensifies the colours. They look so alive. Your bowls (I tell it here because over there said that the comments were closed) remind me of Etruscans. Be sure to bury one (maybe one of those you are not all pleased with) so that the generations that come in a thousand years will find it. 🙂 What a lovely feeling it must be to see and hold what you’ve created.

  7. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you, and I love the idea of burying one for archaeologists to find. I will be thinking about that idea…And you are right, firing brings the colors to life. I wonder how so long ago anyone figured all this clay process out, but I am very glad they did. There is nothing else like it.

Leave a Reply

