Handwriting and Cards

I’ve been working on improving my handwriting, as you may know. One thing I’ve done to practice the new letter shapes I’ve learned is to watch TV and write down phrases of dialogue. This activity has done all kinds of good things for me – my handwriting has gotten better and more fluid; I use the phrases for poetry fodder, and now I have incorporated some of the pages into art activities. Here are a few items to look at.

Here, I wrote on the paper and then I crossed the paper with more lines. I got this idea from something I read – in the past, when paper was scarce and expensive, for whatever reason (such as during wartime), people wrote letters on the paper, and then the recipient would cross the paper with their own words and send it back. I found this intriguing. It seems it would be hard to read, but you can do it, and if you need to communicate, you make use of your resources as you have them. Anyway, here are a couple of ATC’s done that way.

Next, I used the handwriting as a background for more writing in this ATC. Random thoughts layered on random thoughts.

Here is a postcard made from scraps of handwriting paper with some more things on top. Shapes and words. I arranged and wrote with no intentions but it was fun to see if I had really said something profound, afterward. You be the judge…

Here’s an ATC – word scraps, a checkered floor beneath them, maybe, that they are lying on. Someone needs to get out a broom?

20 thoughts on “Handwriting and Cards

  1. Laura (PA Pict)

    I love that your handwriting is being incorporated into your artwork. I’m someone who is hesitant to add text to artwork (though I push myself to do it) but I always like what it adds to other people’s art.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    I don’t like writing slogans or thoughts on artwork very much, but I like the look of random handwriting. Print of course is a different matter! But one reason I wanted better handwriting was to be able to add text to art books or to write out my poetry. I’m moving toward that, I think.

  3. Jeanette Clawson

    I love this. I have done it in my art journals for a variety of reasons. One of which is it just looks cool. Great way to practice handwriting, too! I love that you are using them as ATCs. I just signed up to teach an ATC making workshop in Dec! Have a great weekend and maybe I will see you in Tinicum next weekend!

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you, and seeing you would be great. And I’m glad about the ATC class, too, the more the merrier, new recruits for the ATC world!

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    Others have said that. I much prefer the order and regularity and legibility of this new handwriting. I spent too many years in chaos and I reject it now wherever I can. I also enjoy the peaceful pace of this handwriting – making each letter correctly as I can, putting effort into this little part of my life. Lots of meaning for me. I’ll never go back.

  6. memadtwo

    I love art with text! The top one reminds me of how my cross-stitch words look on the back side. This is fertile ground. (K)

  7. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you, I didn’t mean to be sensitive, but I struggled to learn handwriting as a child, always being criticized for it, and it just became one of a list of deficiencies. I finally realized I could start over and reset this story. Fifty years later…I’ve always felt my writing presented me as disorderly and detracted from what I was saying. Sometimes I couldn’t read it myself. So many things contained in one activity. I love knowing where I’m going when writing now, each word has a plan. Vs a haphazard scrawl that I think reflected my thinking. The metaphysical aspect of handwriting?

  8. Laura (PA Pict)

    I didn’t think you were being sensitive. I just hadn’t explained myself clearly. I think what appeals to me about your handwriting style – original and polished – is that it’s different from that standard American cursive that just about everyone has in this country. As someone with “different” handwriting, I like seeing someone’s own personality and style on their writing rather than something a bit “cloned”. And your old handwriting was a heck of a lot more legible than my husband’s. his handwriting is badly formed and scratchy.

  9. Claudia McGill Post author

    Oh yes. My husband, what a mess. I think he was meant to be left handed but in that era every one learned right handed writing. The results of that reverberate 50 years later in his writing. Just impossible!

  10. Manja Mexi Movie

    This reminds me of the only time I wrote more than one poem in one session (even one happens rarely). I was in the same room and bed with two girl friends, as every year on our August holidays in Croatia. I must have been less than 20, because then we stopped going. They were already asleep and I had to work in darkness with no light at all, only by touch. I opened my big, hardcover notebook and started. I was on a roll (no doubt upon smoking something) and the next morning found about ten pages filled, with no much recollection. As it was, I wasn’t very good at orientation – this continues – and had often started more than one line in the same spot instead of moving down the page. Thus I had quite a mess to decipher.

  11. Claudia McGill Post author

    I can’t stop laughing and yet I am totally in tune with the pouring out of thoughts (however they may have come about and in what circumstances they emerge!) I especially love the part about the words written on top and across each other. Totally logical, this whole story, and yet not. I just love it.

Leave a Reply

