Stencil Guy

These are all mail art postcards made using the same figure. Let me think how I did these…

I cut out the figure from a paint card. I like the stiffness of the cardboard and yet it is not too thick.

Then I took some already-painted postcards and did my work. The first two are stencils with some details added.

The last card is the figure itself – I turned it over to the non-paint color side (you can see the black painting seeping around the edges from when I used it earlier) coloring it yellow and gluing it down.

One figure, reappearing in multiple roles…

 

14 thoughts on “Stencil Guy

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you! It’s fun to cut these people out, they seem to emerge from the scissors. And by the way , thank you for the postcard, I haven’t gotten around to writing to you yet, I apologize. What a nice surprise it was!

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I love stenciling and I also like working with cutout figures. I started with them when I did more collage art than I do now, but they have stuck with me, and I also find cutting out shapes and placing them around a painting, to see what composition I might like better, before I set the paint down and can’t get it off!

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    I think this is the appeal of stenciling. The ability to have similarities and yet expand them into very different outcomes. Plus, I just like cutting out shapes in paper and one good way to use them is – stencils!

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I think it’s the lack of detail in the figures allows their gestures and postures to do all the work of conveying emotion, etc., in a really strong way. And the idea of a stencil is not to be too detailed, I think, plus – it allows for recreating the same basic figure but putting in variations. I really like doing these.

Leave a Reply

